Other DWI/DUI Charges

If you were stopped for a DUI and also caused injury to a person or damaged property, you could be charged with a serious alcohol-related offense. Louisiana law takes alcohol-related offenses very seriously and harshly punishes people charged with these crimes. If you are charged with negligent homicide, vehicular homicide, or negligent injuring on top of your DUI, you’re not just facing fines and a loss of your license—you’re also facing the possibility of losing your freedom for years, even decades.

Negligent homicide and vehicular homicide carry grave penalties in Louisiana. You may be charged with negligent homicide if, while breaking the law, your actions caused the death of another person. If charged with negligent homicide, you could receive up to five years in prison. If the victim was under 10 years old, you could be sentenced to two to five years in prison without the possibility of parole or suspension of your sentence. Vehicular homicide occurs when the death of a person is caused by a person operating a vehicle, whether a car, motorcycle, RV, boat, or any other means of transportation. Under the law, it doesn’t matter that you didn’t mean to hurt anyone. The state can and will prosecute you. If you are accused of causing the death of another person while driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you risk $15,000 in fines and up to 30 years in prison.

When you’ve been charged with an alcohol-related offense, it’s crucial to have an experienced attorney on your side. At Harmon, Smith & Vourvoulias, we have the expertise and skill needed to aggressively fight your charges. We work to minimize or avoid entirely the potential loss of freedom and livelihood from a conviction. Contact us today for a free consultation. We’ll discuss your case, let you know your options, and get started on giving you the best possible defense.